Q&A: What five books would you recommend I get?

Category : Father's Day
Q&A: What five books would you recommend I get?by Roxy-Publishingon.Q&A: What five books would you recommend I get?

Question by Miss Melanie: What five books would you recommend I get?
My birthday is coming up and my father told me to write a list of five books that I would like to receive for the occasion. No romance or horror novels please. To get an idea of the books I like to read, here is a small list.
1) Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
2) The Shack by William P. Young
3) The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
4) Anthing by Tamora Pierce
5) My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

Best answer:

Answer by *Jess*
I love Tamora Pierce, J.K. Rowling and Jane Austen and I am going to read Jodi Picoult. Here are 5 suggestions in no particular order:

~Sabriel, Lirael and Abhorsen

“Sabriel” is the story of a teenage girl living happily at a girl’s school, while her necromancer father (the Abhorsen) roams around putting the dead to rest. All that changes when a sending brings her father’s sword and bells, meaning that he is dead or incapacitated. So Sabriel takes on her father’s duties, accompanied by a Free Magic cat and a mysterious young prince, and battles the specter of a horrible evil creature that is reaching out from death to snare her.

“Lirael” takes us to the cold citadel of the Clayr, a race of seers. Young Lirael is depressed because she doesn’t have the gift of Sight yet, even though everybody else her age does. But things take a sinister turn when she sets a horrifying, bloodthirsty creature loose, and must work — with the help of the mysterious Disreputable Dog — to get rid of it. But what Lirael doesn’t know is that the outside world is in danger too, from a sinister new enemy.

“Abhorsen” brings the series to an explosive conclusion. Lirael and her nephew Sameth — along with “cat” Mogget and the Disreputable Dog — are in danger from the Dead. What’s more, the Destroyer Orannis has escaped from his prison and is being assisted by an evil necromancer and the Dead called Chlorr — and an unfortunate pal of Sameth’s. Now Lirael must call on her destiny as the future Abhorsen, and kill the Destroyer.

~ The Gift (or The Naming in America), The Riddle, The Crow, The Singing
NB: This series was ment to be a trilogy but after Alison started The Riddle she realised she couldn’t possibly fit it all into 3 books so the “trilogy” got pushed out to a “quartet” =)

“The Gift” Maerad is a slave in a desperate and unforgiving settlement, taken there as a child when her family is destroyed in war. She doesn’t yet know she has inherited a powerful gift, one that marks her as a member of the noble School of Pellinor and enables her to see the world as no other can. It is only when she is discovered by Cadvan, one of the great Bards of Lirigon, that her true identity and extraordinary destiny unfold. Now, she and her mysterious teacher must embark on a treacherous, uncertain journey through a time and place where the forces of darkness wield an otherworldly terror.

“The Riddle” Maerad is a girl with a tragic and bitter past, but her powers grow stronger by the day. Now she and her mentor, Cadvan, hunted by both the Light and the Dark, must unravel the Riddle of the Treesong before their fractured kingdom erupts in chaos. The quest leads Maerad over terrifying seas and vast stretches of glacial wilderness, ever closer to the seductive Winterking—ally of her most powerful enemy, the Nameless One. Trapped in the Winterking’s icy realm, Maerad must confront what she has suspected all along: that she is the greatest riddle of all.

“The Crow” I’m not going to say anything about the following books because it gives away some of the past plot ^_^.

“The Singing” As above.


If you had the power to kill with your bare hands, what would you do with it?
Graceling takes readers inside the world of Katsa, a warrior-girl in her late teens with one blue eye and one green eye. This gives her haunting beauty, but also marks her as a Graceling. Gracelings are beings with special talents—swimming, storytelling, dancing. Katsa’s Grace is considered more useful: her ability to fight (and kill, if she wanted to) is unequaled in the seven kingdoms. Forced to act as a henchman for a manipulative king, Katsa channels her guilt by forming a secret council of like-minded citizens who carry out secret missions to promote justice over cruelty and abuses of power.

Combining elements of fantasy and romance, Cashore skillfully portrays the confusion, discovery, and angst that smart, strong-willed girls experience as they creep toward adulthood. Katsa wrestles with questions of freedom, truth, and knowing when to rely on a friend for help. This is no small task for an angry girl who had eschewed friendships (with the exception of one cousin that she trusts) for her more ready skills of self-reliance, hunting, and fighting. Katsa also comes to know the real power of her Grace and the nature of Graces in general: they are not always what they appear to be.

~ Obernewtyn, The Farseekers, Ashling, The Keeping Place, The Stone Key.
NOTE: If you live in America The Stone Key has been split into 2 books so there is a book called Wavesong that goes before The Stone Key in America, which for the rest of the world is just the first half of The Stone Key made into another book … hmmm does that make sense?

The Obernewtyn Series are set in a land ruled by the tyrannous council and more ominously by the Herders, priests of Lud. Once a mechanism for survival, the Council hunts down misfits (any person or animal born physically or mentally deformed) for purely political reasons.

This awesome heroine is a misfit of a new kind – she, and others like her, have developed mind powers which take various guises (farspeaking, coercion, beastspeaking etc). Sent to the mountain of Obernewtyn on suspicion of possessing just such powers, Elspeth meets a number of fascinating characters who become her comrades in the struggle to build a haven from persecution for all misfits. This is the story told in the first two novels of the series; however, running underneath the action and development of the haven is the development of Elspeth’s unique destiny: to save the world from a re-occurence of the Great White nuclear holocaust that has devastated the world once already.

As the legendary Seeker, she must locate and destroy the machines which created the Great White before her nemesis, the Destroyer, can find them and use them. This is the thread of this sophisticated, morally complex series which continues to improve.


I love anything by her and will buy it without even reading the back.
‘The Heralds of Valdemar’ 3 books in series the first is ‘Arrows of the Queen’ but about 6 other series as well as individual books set in the same land with some of the same characters. They have some romance in them but more like Daine and Numair romance not over the top romance.

Well I hope you like at least one of these books as much as I have ^_^ I wish my Dad would by me books for my birthday or even Christmas. Happy Birthday!!

Give your answer to this question below!


Related Posts

Comments are closed.